What attributes would you say describe and define your own negotiation styles? Where did you learn to negotiate? Do you think you are any good at it?
Oh my, I don't really know what my negotiation style is. In real life I would like to think I can work collaboratively and negotiate cooperatively. But I'm worried that sometimes I negotiate competitively. Especially with my parents... Which I suppose is where I learned to negotiate. When I wanted to go out with friends and my parents wanted me to stay in. We would, I suppose you could call it "negotiating", but it was more of an argument. But in someways I learned how to manipulate the argument and let them have my way, as Sebinus would say. Of course I didn't always get my way, but I think parental arguments were my first shot at being a negotiator.
Oh my. I would say... I'm probably not very good at negotiating. I have a hard time taking myself out of the situation, which is key. You need to understand the problem objectively, and when things directly affect me, I have a hard time seeing other sides. When problems do not directly involve me, I LOVE seeing all sides. When reading books in my Ideas and Power class I always want to see the other side, the murder's side, the rapist's side, I love seeing things from other points of view... except when it's directly effecting me. I suppose that's something I should work on eh? Good thing I'm taking this class!
No comments:
Post a Comment